In 2010 the brand acquired a beautiful off-market hotel in Edinburgh. Originally a large family house, it was built in 1885 for John Ritchie Findlay, the founder of Scotsman Newspaper.
After initial assessment it was found that despite the fact that the fabric of the building was in good condition, the hotel had been trading poorly and the decorations were rather tired. The challenge here was to create an interior that was representative of the brand, whilst retaining the existing and very unique interior features such as carved wood, double height library and stained glass windows.
The refurbishment was fast-tracked to minimise the loss of the revenue and the hotel was re-launched under the B+B brand a few months later.